Voice of Democracy Contest

VOD 2019

Muenster High School Voice of Democracy recipients for the 2018-2019 theme, "Why My Voice Matters".  These students are sponsored by our HS ELA Teacher, Ms. Ann Hamilton.  The winners are Mary Fisher (1st place), Erin Hesse (2nd place), and Abby Walterscheid (3rd place).

Voice of Democracy

Established in 1947, our Voice of Democracy audio-essay program provides high school students with the unique opportunity to express themselves in regards to a democratic and patriotic-themed recorded essay. Each year, nearly 40,000 9-12 grade students from across the country enter to win their share of $2.1 million in educational scholarships and incentives awarded through the program. 

The national first-place winner receives a $30,000 scholarship paid directly to the recipient’s American university, college or vocational/technical school. A complete list of other national scholarships range from $1,000-$16,000, and the first-place winner from each VFW Department (state) wins a minimum scholarship of $1,000 and an all-expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C.